Always a Booklover

The magic of books just enchants me. I love reading, what more can I say?

Seriously Series Reading Challenge 2014

General Overview

How serious about series are you? We'll find out in 2014.

In the summer of 2012, Amanda @ On a Book Bender and I hosted an informal challenge that focused on completing books in series that we owned. It was enough of a success that we decided we wanted to turn it into a year-long challenge--with a few minor changes.

While Amanda is unable to host it with me this year, she is a huge part in the creation and implementation of this challenge and I couldn't have attempted to put it together without her. Thank you, Amanda!


For this challenge, a series is defined as a collection of two or more books that belong together and where the second book is published before the end of 2014. This is a pretty broad definition of series, and it includes traditional series like the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, less traditional series like Stephanie Perkins's YA contemps (Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door), and shorter series, like Kendare Blake's Anna series (Anna Dressed in Blood, Girl of Nightmares).

A series is considered complete in one of two ways: either as finishing all the books that you own in the series or as obtaining and reading all the books that have been published in the series to date. Because we don't want this challenge to become a financial burden, how you choose to define completion is left to your discretion.

How It Works

To allow for the greatest level of flexibility, we've separated series into three categories: series started before 2014, series started in 2014, and series rereads.
  • Series started before 2014 are defined as series that you have started reading before Jan. 2014 and that you still have unread books to get current in (or finish) the series.
  • Series started in 2014 are defined as any series that you start reading between Jan. and Dec. 2014, and the second book in the series must be published before December 2014.
  • A series reread is defined as books that are part of a series that were read before Jan. 2014 and that are reread between Jan. 2014 and Dec. 2014. A series reread does NOT have to include the full series.

For each category, there are different levels of seriousness about series that you can choose. Semi-serious is reading 1 to 6 series, seriously serious is reading 7 to 12 series, super seriously serious is reading 13 to 18 series, and seriously spectacular series star is reading more than 18 series. What this ends up looking like is this:

series started before 2014series started in 2014series rereads
Semi-Serious1-6 series1-61-6
Seriously Serious7-127-127-12
Super Seriously Serious13-1813-1813-18
Seriously Spectacular Series Star18+18+18+
FYI, reading novellas and short stories from a series does count here -- if you want it to!

You choose which categories you want to attempt and which level to shoot for.

So, for me, this is my goal.
Series started in 2014: Seriously Serious
Series Rereads: Seriously Serious
Series Started before 2014: Seriously Serious

Check this place out, for a record of the books I've read! 


Wow great challenge, I may not be able to formally enter as of right now with schedule... but I will attempt to informally do the mishmash, which I somewhat do now a little anyway...but great challenge!:O)


Post a Comment

Hey there! Comments will make any blogger's day, so leave a comment! Be it good or bad, I want to hear it :D


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...